Monday, 22 October 2018 | News today: 3

Macedonia Parliament strips six VMRO-DPMNE MPs of their immunity

The Parliament of Macedonia has approved a request of the Skopje Criminal Court to strip six VMRO-DPMNE MPs of their immunity after it has ordered detention for their involvement in the violent events of 27 April 2017 in Parliament.

The MPs include Krsto Mukoski, Johan Tarculovski, Zaklina Pesevska, Ljuben Arnaudov, Ljupco Dimovski and Saso Vasilevski.

66 MPs, who were attending Friday’s 25th session, voted in favor of removing parliamentary immunity.

VMRO-DPMNE lawmakers didn’t attend the session calling it ‘a political farce with the sole purpose of orchestrating revanchism, spreading hatred, and eliminating all those who think differently.’

Today’s voting concluded a procedure regulated under the Parliament’s Rules of Procedures and the Constitution on stripping deputies of their immunity. However, in line with Macedonian laws and the Constitution, they would remain to serve as lawmakers in Parliament until a court verdict entered into force and unless they were to be convicted of a crime that carried a sentence of at least five years in prison.

Krsto Mukoski, Johan  Tarculovski, Zaklina Pesevska, Ljuben Arnaudov, Ljupco Dimovski and Saso Vasilevski are a few of the 36 people suspected of ‘terrorist endangerment of the constitutional order and security’ in connection to the April 27 incidents in Parliament.

Furthermore, before voting to remove parliamentary immunity, MPs reached a decision to deploy Macedonian Army servicemen to take part in the Resolute Support peacekeeping operation in Afghanistan.