Tuesday, 17 July 2018 | News today: 20

New MPs get certificates


The State Election Commission (SEC) handed over Wednesday the certificates to the MPs elected at the 2016 early parliamentary elections.

The certificates were presented to the authorized representatives of the coalitions and political parties that won MP seats.

The Parliament includes 120 MPs, of which the VMRO-DPMNE-led coalition has 51, followed by SDSM-49, DUI-10, BESA-5, Alliance of Albanians-3 and DPA-2.

The Parliament is set to announce the date of the constitutive session later in the day. According to announcements, outgoing Parliament Speaker Trajko Veljanoski will preside over the constitutive session, which should be scheduled no later than Saturday, i.e. 20 days after the December 11 elections.

After the Parliament’s constitution, the President is obliged within 10 days to present the government mandate to the party or parties having parliamentary majority. The PM-designate submits the government makeup and programme within 20 days, which is afterwards elected by majority. If the PM-designate fails to form a government, the mandate goes back to the President, who then gives it to the party with second-most MP seats and the procedure is repeated.