Wednesday, 24 October 2018 | News today: 0

Parliament to debate immunity stripping of six MPs


The Parliament is set to hold Friday its 25. session on the immunity stripping of six MPs from the VMRO-DPMNE-led coalition due to the public prosecutor’s office request for their detention over the April 27 events in the Parliament.

MPs Krsto Mukoski, Johan Tarculovski, Zaklina Pesevska, Ljuben Arnaudov, Ljupco Dimovski and Saso Vasilevski can be stripped of immunity through a simple majority of 61 votes.

If stripped of immunity, they will remain MPs until a final ruling by the Skopje-based Criminal Court and if the deputy is sentenced for a crime that stipulates a prison term of at least five years.

On Thursday, the Parliament’s Committee on Rules of Procedures and Mandate-Immunity Issues decided to strip the immunity of the six VMRO-DPMNE MPs and forwarded the decision to Speaker Talat Xhaferi.

The MPs are part of the 36 persons charged by the Public Prosecutor’s Office for “terrorist endangerment of the constitutional order and security”, related to the April 27 incidents in the Parliament.