Tuesday marks the 18th anniversary of the Ohrid Framework Agreement, which put an end to the 2001 conflict in the country.

Following days of negotiations in Ohrid, the OFA was signed in Skopje on 13 August 2001. Then President Boris Trajkovski, former Prime Minister and VMRO-DPMNE leader Ljubco Georgievski, as well as SDSM, DPA and PDP leaders, Branko Crvenkovski, Arben Xhaferi and Imer Imeri respectively, signed the treaty.

The EU and US special representatives, Francois Leotard and James Pardew respectively, signed the document on behalf of the international community.

More than 130 laws and amendments have been passed over the years, most of which referring to non-discrimination and just representation, identity, culture, education and power decentralization.