At the invitation of the NATO Secretary General, Jens Stoltenberg, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Macedonia, Nikola Dimitrov, tomorrow, February 6, 2019, will participate in the meeting of the North Atlantic Council on the signing of the Accession Protocol for Membership of the Republic of Macedonia in NATO, which is to be held at the NATO headquarters in Brussels.

At the meeting, where Minister Dimitrov is set to deliver an address, the 29 member states, represented by their authorized permanent representatives in NATO, will sign the Protocol for Accession of the Republic of Macedonia to NATO, with the new constitutional name Republic of North Macedonia.

With this act, the 29 member states will express their consent to our country becoming part of the NATO system and procedures, and participating in the work of the Alliance bodies as an invited member state, without the right to vote.

Immediately after the approval of the Protocol for Accession to NATO membership, the process of ratification in the parliaments of each of the Alliance member states will begin. Greece will be the first to ratify the Protocol, after which the Prespa Agreement and the constitutional amendments come into force.

Once the process of ratification of the Protocol in all 29 member states is completed, our country, with its new constitutional name, will become a full-fledged NATO member with the right to vote for all decisions of the alliance.