The State Election Commission last night announced the preliminary unofficial results of the second round of local elections, according to which Skopje and 43 municipalities in the country received mayors. The final results, as SEC President Aleksandar Dasteski said, will be announced today.

According to the published preliminary data, VMRO-DPMNE and the coalition in the second round of local elections won mayoral seats in 20 municipalities in Bitola, Brvenica, Vasilevo, Vevcani, Gevgelija, Demir Hisar, Zelenikovo, Konce, Kocani, Kratovo, Lozovo, Makedonska Kamenica, Makedonski Brod, Novo Selo, Pehcevo, Ohrid, Rankovce, Resen, Cesinovo-Oblesevo and Radovis.

The coalition led by SDSM won mayoral seats in seven municipalities – Demir Kapija, Probistip, Rosoman, Staro Nagoricane, Caska, Cucer Sandevo and Centar.

DUI also won seven mayoral seats in the second round in Aracinovo, Bogovinje, Dolneni, Kicevo, Struga, Tearce and Cair.

The Alliance for Albanians and Alternative coalition has mayors in Vrapciste and Gostivar, and BESA in Zelino and Tetovo.

GROM has a new mayor in Karpos, DPA in Studenicani, and the coalition of LDP and DOM won the mayoral seat in Suto Orizari.