NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg said that the protocol to admit NATO to the Alliance will be prepared soon. The document will be sent to all NATO member states for ratification, but primarily to Greece, which undertook an obligation to ratify it as soon as it is received.

Greece blocked Macedonia’s NATO membership in 2008 in violation of the Interim Accord it signed, but its Government announces that it will honor the new, Prespa Agreement it ratified. Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras had a two vote cushion during the ratification of the Prespa Agreement and hopes it will remain firm to also ratify Macedonia’s NATO membership.