The Bulgarian Government accepted the Protocol for accession to NATO for Macedonia and instructed its Ambassador to NATO to sign it.

According to the Government, Bulgaria is the first country to approve the signing of the Protocol, which will then be sent for ratification to the Parliament after all Ambassadors sign it.

Greece is expected to be the first country to ratify it, given that it is its obligation under the Prespa Agreement. Greece vetoed Macedonia’s NATO membership since the 2008 Bucharest Summit.