Several EU and NATO officials congratulated Zoran Zaev on pushing the amendments that rename the Republic of Macedonia into North Macedonia.

European diplomatic chief Federica Mogherini and Commissioner Johannes Hahn told Zaev that the vote in the Parliament was “historic” and will allow the country to move along the EU path.

The EU strongly supports this agreement which sets an example of reconciliation for the region and Europe as a whole. As we are awaiting the completion of the next steps leading to the full implementation of the Prespa Agreement, the European Union remains firmly committed to continue to fully support and accompany the country towards its common strategic goal of EU integration, Mogherini and Hahn wrote in their message.

NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg also sent out a tweet of congratulations saying it is an important move for the stability and prosperity of the region. Stoltenberg also called Zaev to congratulate him.

US Embassy in Macedonia sent out a video message from outgoing Ambassador Jess Baily saying that the US hopes to welcome “North Macedonia” as the next NATO member. And two members of the European Parliament, Eduard Kukan and Knut Fleckenstein, began promoting the name in their congratulatory tweets. This comes after German Chancellor Angela Merkel used the name in her press conference with Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras in Athens yesterday.