In 2022, Greece’s Ministry of National Economy and Finance released a list comprising 42 countries, including Macedonia, identified to have a privileged tax regime, according to MIA’s Athens correspondent.

These designated countries are classified based on criteria where a legal entity or individual is subject to paying profit, income, or capital tax at a rate equal to or lower than 60% of the tax rate applicable to entities or persons as outlined in Greek tax laws. This applies specifically to those who are tax residents or have established a permanent business presence within Greece.

Among the European nations listed are not only Macedonia but also Bulgaria, Cyprus, Albania, Kosovo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Monaco, and Hungary.

The decision outlining these privileged tax status countries for 2022 has been officially signed by Greece’s Minister of National Economy and Finance, Kostis Hatzidakis, along with deputy Haris Theocharis, and has been published in the Official Gazette.

The roster of countries for the current year remains consistent with the 2021 tax year, except for the inclusion of the Tokelau Islands as an addition to the new list for 2022.