Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban announced that his country will block Bulgaria from entering the Schengen Zone, as long as Bulgaria continues to demand an extra transit tax on Russian gas. The Bulgarian move greatly affected all downstream countries, including Macedonia, and especially the major economies of Hungary and Austria.

We clearly notified the Bulgarians that, if their decision continues, if they continue to endanger the Hungarian energy supply for a prolonged period of time, we will veto their entry into the Schengen Zone, Orban said.

Bulgaria already faces a veto from Austria, and other countries skeptical of their corruption record. Bulgaria and Romania are applying to join the free movement zone.